Using a nano sim in an old phone

Computers, gaming, gadgets and geekery.

Using a nano sim in an old phone

Post by Disastrous @ Fri Sep 30, 2016 4:20 pm

Can anyone help? This is giving me the right cnut.

I've got an old Nokia 1100 that I would like to use as a 'stunt phone' for when I'm doing action-y things, as it's solid as an oak and the battery lasts 4 Eva.

I've got a wee sim adapter thing so I fcuk the nano sim into that and it should not be the size of a regular old sim. I fcuk that into the Nokia (which is unlocked btw) and it just says 'invalid sim'. Why?? Why won't the cnut work??
User avatar
Disastrous
Monkey Licker!
 
Posts: 36809
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 3:58 pm

Re: Using a nano sim in an old phone

Post by Il Duce @ Fri Sep 30, 2016 5:03 pm

Disastrous wrote:Can anyone help? This is giving me the right cnut.

I've got an old Nokia 1100 that I would like to use as a 'stunt phone' for when I'm doing action-y things, as it's solid as an oak and the battery lasts 4 Eva.

I've got a wee sim adapter thing so I fcuk the nano sim into that and it should not be the size of a regular old sim. I fcuk that into the Nokia (which is unlocked btw) and it just says 'invalid sim'. Why?? Why won't the cnut work??


The phone might be locked to a different network or you are a thick hool and have it in upside down.
Last edited by Il Duce on Fri Sep 30, 2016 5:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Il Duce
Italian Person
Italian Person
 
Posts: 10605
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 10:08 am

Re: Using a nano sim in an old phone

Post by Disastrous @ Fri Sep 30, 2016 5:05 pm

Read it again ID! The phone is unlocked...
User avatar
Disastrous
Monkey Licker!
 
Posts: 36809
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 3:58 pm

Re: Using a nano sim in an old phone

Post by Deuteronomy @ Fri Sep 30, 2016 5:09 pm

Should work, sounds like the phone isn't as unlocked as you may think.
User avatar
Deuteronomy
 
Posts: 14178
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2008 4:57 pm

Re: Using a nano sim in an old phone

Post by CJ+ @ Fri Sep 30, 2016 5:10 pm

Pix?

Sure you haven't got a nano sim in an adaptor for a micro?
User avatar
CJ+
 
Posts: 14066
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 9:39 pm
Location: Lave Orbital Station
Highscores: 1

Re: Using a nano sim in an old phone

Post by Il Duce @ Fri Sep 30, 2016 5:21 pm

Disastrous wrote:Read it again ID! The phone is unlocked...


Try turning it off and then back on again.
User avatar
Il Duce
Italian Person
Italian Person
 
Posts: 10605
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 10:08 am

Re: Using a nano sim in an old phone

Post by Disastrous @ Fri Sep 30, 2016 5:27 pm

CJ+ wrote:Pix?

Sure you haven't got a nano sim in an adaptor for a micro?



Definitely not. I've got both adapters and am using the right one.

Phone is certainly unlocked but I fcuked an online unlocking code through it anyway, just in case and it said "Way Hey! You're phone is DEFINITELY fcuking unlocked now, even though it was before!!!!" so I'm pretty sure it's good to go.

Could it be an issue with new EE sims not working in a phone that is older than their company or something??
User avatar
Disastrous
Monkey Licker!
 
Posts: 36809
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 3:58 pm

Re: Using a nano sim in an old phone

Post by CJ+ @ Fri Sep 30, 2016 6:15 pm

Disastrous wrote:
CJ+ wrote:Pix?

Sure you haven't got a nano sim in an adaptor for a micro?



Definitely not. I've got both adapters and am using the right one.

Phone is certainly unlocked but I fcuked an online unlocking code through it anyway, just in case and it said "Way Hey! You're phone is DEFINITELY fcuking unlocked now, even though it was before!!!!" so I'm pretty sure it's good to go.

Could it be an issue with new EE sims not working in a phone that is older than their company or something??

Not sure a 4G sim will work in an elderly 2G phone. Other way round will, though.
User avatar
CJ+
 
Posts: 14066
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 9:39 pm
Location: Lave Orbital Station
Highscores: 1

Re: Using a nano sim in an old phone

Post by Disastrous @ Fri Sep 30, 2016 6:48 pm

CJ+ wrote:
Disastrous wrote:
CJ+ wrote:Pix?

Sure you haven't got a nano sim in an adaptor for a micro?



Definitely not. I've got both adapters and am using the right one.

Phone is certainly unlocked but I fcuked an online unlocking code through it anyway, just in case and it said "Way Hey! You're phone is DEFINITELY fcuking unlocked now, even though it was before!!!!" so I'm pretty sure it's good to go.

Could it be an issue with new EE sims not working in a phone that is older than their company or something??

Not sure a 4G sim will work in an elderly 2G phone. Other way round will, though.



Hmm, interesting. Hadn't considered that so will do some Googling around that theme...
User avatar
Disastrous
Monkey Licker!
 
Posts: 36809
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 3:58 pm

Re: Using a nano sim in an old phone

Post by Disastrous @ Fri Sep 30, 2016 6:49 pm

Apparently it's all good. You just don't get the 4G bits.

Wtf?? Why does this not work? It's insane!
User avatar
Disastrous
Monkey Licker!
 
Posts: 36809
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 3:58 pm

Re: Using a nano sim in an old phone

Post by Tokyo Sexwale @ Fri Sep 30, 2016 7:31 pm

No one cares sadly so you won't get your answers here.
User avatar
Tokyo Sexwale
 
Posts: 47369
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 5:14 pm

Re: Using a nano sim in an old phone

Post by Disastrous @ Fri Sep 30, 2016 7:47 pm

Tokyo Sexwale wrote:No one cares sadly so you won't get your answers here.



Laugh.

I'll remember your kind words.
User avatar
Disastrous
Monkey Licker!
 
Posts: 36809
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 3:58 pm

Re: Using a nano sim in an old phone

Post by Barbarianna @ Fri Sep 30, 2016 10:15 pm

Something spectacularly daft like a faulty adapter? And you really must switch the phone off and on again a few times, just to buck its ideas up.
Barbarianna
 
Posts: 3913
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2010 6:50 pm

Re: Using a nano sim in an old phone

Post by GingerNinja @ Sat Oct 01, 2016 12:43 am

I believe modern sims draw less power than older ones, and maybe your old phone can't handle that?

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
User avatar
GingerNinja
 
Posts: 4493
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 5:02 pm
Location: London

Re: Using a nano sim in an old phone

Post by Käsemeister @ Sat Oct 01, 2016 10:14 am

Iirc when I last tried to put my Three sim in my old Nokia 7110 it didn't work at all. Maybe a new sim thing, maybe the phone just hasn't a clue what Three is or EE in your case.

Just fcuk your iPhone into an Otterbox and be done with it.
User avatar
Käsemeister
 
Posts: 35463
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 5:24 pm
Location: Hanging on in quiet desperation.

Re: Using a nano sim in an old phone

Post by Tokyo Sexwale @ Sat Oct 01, 2016 10:34 am

Käsemeister wrote:Just fcuk your iPhone into an Otterbox and be done with it.

Ooh nice.
User avatar
Tokyo Sexwale
 
Posts: 47369
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 5:14 pm


Return to Computers & Gaming & Gadgets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

yt
  Enable youtube titles