A stupid Windows question

Computers, gaming, gadgets and geekery.

A stupid Windows question

Post by Disastrous @ Mon Oct 10, 2016 11:21 am

I'm trying to help a friend with a Windows laptop.

He wants to use an HDMI TV that mirrors the display on it.

But there's a problem:

1). In display preferences, the external tv is not set to the correct resolution, so goes black when you plug it in.

2). Somehow, it has been set to not mirror, but simply send the display to the second monitor.

3). Because of 2), changing 1) is impossible.


What happens is, you plug in the TV, Windows detects it and immediately turns the laptop display blank and sends the output to the tv. The tv of course, can't display the picture but I can't change the resolution so it can, because the laptop display goes off.

How the fcuk do you fix that?? Weirdly, it seems to remember display settings for different screens, as plugging in another telly, simply mirrors the display, letting me still make changes on the laptop. But not on the one it needs to work with.

Is there a way to resolve this??
User avatar
Disastrous
Monkey Licker!
 
Posts: 36642
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 3:58 pm

Re: A stupid Windows question

Post by Hooli @ Mon Oct 10, 2016 12:05 pm

There is normally a hot key combination to cycle though the mirror/second desktop/swap displays option. Typically Fn+F4 (I think) on HP laptops.
Hooli
Turtle Rubber
 
Posts: 18389
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 5:04 pm
Location: N/A

Re: A stupid Windows question

Post by Käsemeister @ Mon Oct 10, 2016 12:26 pm

Or f7
User avatar
Käsemeister
 
Posts: 35300
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 5:24 pm
Location: Hanging on in quiet desperation.

Re: A stupid Windows question

Post by Disastrous @ Mon Oct 10, 2016 12:35 pm

Aha...That could be the answer. Was not aware of such a combination, so will give it a try, thanks.

Does that work on Windows 10 (is that the all new Windows we're on now??)?
User avatar
Disastrous
Monkey Licker!
 
Posts: 36642
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 3:58 pm

Re: A stupid Windows question

Post by Hooli @ Mon Oct 10, 2016 12:45 pm

Should do as far as I know (not tried it though).
Hooli
Turtle Rubber
 
Posts: 18389
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 5:04 pm
Location: N/A

Re: A stupid Windows question

Post by GingerNinja @ Tue Oct 11, 2016 11:26 pm

Dis, just had a Google about a bit and found this:

Without the HDMI lead connected to your laptop -
!.) Go to 'Settings', - 'Control panel', - 'Hardware and Sound'.
2.) now select 'Adjust commonly used mobility settings'. A 'Windows Mobility Centre' window will appear.
3.) Select 'External Display'. A margin will appear on the right hand side of your screen, with the heading, 'Project', and containing four different choices.
4.) Hover your cursor over 'Duplicate'.- make sure it is in the right place.
5.) CAREFULLY connect the HDMI lead, taking care not to move your cursor.
6.) Though the screen will go black, the cursor will be in the right place, - so now click 'Duplicate' (even though you can't see it).
Your laptop screen should now light up, along with your tv.
User avatar
GingerNinja
 
Posts: 4450
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 5:02 pm
Location: London

Re: A stupid Windows question

Post by GingerNinja @ Tue Oct 11, 2016 11:26 pm

Or alternatively, it could just be that your drivers need updating.
User avatar
GingerNinja
 
Posts: 4450
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 5:02 pm
Location: London

Re: A stupid Windows question

Post by Disastrous @ Fri Oct 14, 2016 10:07 am

GingerNinja wrote:Dis, just had a Google about a bit and found this:

Without the HDMI lead connected to your laptop -
!.) Go to 'Settings', - 'Control panel', - 'Hardware and Sound'.
2.) now select 'Adjust commonly used mobility settings'. A 'Windows Mobility Centre' window will appear.
3.) Select 'External Display'. A margin will appear on the right hand side of your screen, with the heading, 'Project', and containing four different choices.
4.) Hover your cursor over 'Duplicate'.- make sure it is in the right place.
5.) CAREFULLY connect the HDMI lead, taking care not to move your cursor.
6.) Though the screen will go black, the cursor will be in the right place, - so now click 'Duplicate' (even though you can't see it).
Your laptop screen should now light up, along with your tv.


I well love you mate! That worked absolutely perfectly - thanks loads!
User avatar
Disastrous
Monkey Licker!
 
Posts: 36642
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 3:58 pm


Return to Computers & Gaming & Gadgets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

yt
  Enable youtube titles