Am I missing a problem here?

Computers, gaming, gadgets and geekery.

Am I missing a problem here?

Post by Careless Whisperer @ Wed Jun 14, 2017 5:51 pm

OK, usual caveats apply - I am a technophobe.

I use a piece of industry standard software that works on industry standard files. So standard, that even new software allows the facility to save back to the old file type.

As ever, constant operating system updates eventually lead to my software becoming incompatible and these days that means having to sign up to a stupid subscription that I don't want to do.

If I had a PC connected to my office network specifically to work on these files, but it never connected to the internet so was never updated - would this be a risk?

Any files worked on would be received via email on another machine, then saved to the network, then opened and worked on by the out of date machine and then saved back to the network.

Am I missing something?
User avatar
Careless Whisperer
 
Posts: 14744
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 10:07 pm
Location: The Real World
Highscores: 5

Re: Am I missing a problem here?

Post by Pigeon @ Wed Jun 14, 2017 6:00 pm

Yes. Everyone else would be using files generated by new software that your old software is not capable of handling. That always happens.
User avatar
Pigeon
CTF Technical Expert
CTF Technical Expert
 
Posts: 23622
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 8:50 pm
Location: All alone in the crazy city

Re: Am I missing a problem here?

Post by Careless Whisperer @ Wed Jun 14, 2017 6:08 pm

Pigeon wrote:Yes. Everyone else would be using files generated by new software that your old software is not capable of handling. That always happens.


Careless Whisperer wrote:I use a piece of industry standard software that works on industry standard files. So standard, that even new software allows the facility to save back to the old file type.
User avatar
Careless Whisperer
 
Posts: 14744
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 10:07 pm
Location: The Real World
Highscores: 5

Re: Am I missing a problem here?

Post by Pigeon @ Wed Jun 14, 2017 6:28 pm

I don't believe in that continuing to be the case.
User avatar
Pigeon
CTF Technical Expert
CTF Technical Expert
 
Posts: 23622
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 8:50 pm
Location: All alone in the crazy city

Re: Am I missing a problem here?

Post by Hooli @ Wed Jun 14, 2017 8:04 pm

If anything like the recent Wannacry worm gets on your system then the unpatched machine is vulnerable even though it never sees the net directly.
Hooli
Turtle Rubber
 
Posts: 19568
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 5:04 pm
Location: The 1950s

Re: Am I missing a problem here?

Post by Käsemeister @ Wed Jun 14, 2017 8:26 pm

Pigeon wrote:I don't believe in that continuing to be the case.


Why?
User avatar
Käsemeister
 
Posts: 36442
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 5:24 pm
Location: Hanging on in quiet desperation.

Re: Am I missing a problem here?

Post by Käsemeister @ Wed Jun 14, 2017 8:27 pm

Hooli wrote:If anything like the recent Wannacry worm gets on your system then the unpatched machine is vulnerable even though it never sees the net directly.


That's the fundamental. You'd be wise to patch and update both machines come what may. A lot of subscription stuff likes to phone home occasionally too so you could well come unstuck if it remains unconnected.
User avatar
Käsemeister
 
Posts: 36442
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 5:24 pm
Location: Hanging on in quiet desperation.


Return to Computers & Gaming & Gadgets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

yt
  Enable youtube titles