I want to take pictures of birds

Happy snappers.

I want to take pictures of birds

Post by deev @ Mon Apr 23, 2018 10:02 pm

Yeah, with a long lens! Tits! But seriously, I want to take photos of the birds that fly around in my back garden and over the river etc. I have a beginners Nikon D3200 with whatever lens it came with. I am by no means an expert with such things but I want to be able to take nice photos of the birds a bit closer up than my current lens/sneaking up abilities allow. Ideally I want to get a decent shot of the Kingfishers. Tell me what to buy.

I'm a beginner so there's no point telling me to buy an eleventy billion quid hyperdoodah. Thank you please.
deev
Banger King

Highscores: 3

Re: I want to take pictures of birds

Post by minimoog @ Mon Apr 23, 2018 10:39 pm

On the cheap, one of these

But if you want this

You'll be looking at the more expensive options mentioned here:

https://photographylife.com/best-nikon-lenses-for-wildlife-photography
minimoog

Post by deev @ Mon Apr 23, 2018 10:45 pm

cheap one looks good!
deev
Banger King

Post by minimoog @ Mon Apr 23, 2018 11:02 pm

deev wrote:cheap one looks good!

You'll probably want the VR version (with image stabilisation) which is more expensive. In which case this similar lens might appeal if you don't mind buying used

https://www.mpb.com/en-uk/used-equipment/used-photo-and-video/used-lenses/used-nikon-fit-lenses/nikon-af-p-70-300mm-f-4-5-6-3-g-if-ed-vr/sku-726634/

p.s. but check it's compatible with your body - see the text of the ad. It isn't compatible :(
Last edited by minimoog on Mon Apr 23, 2018 11:06 pm, edited 2 times in total.
minimoog

Post by deev @ Mon Apr 23, 2018 11:12 pm

I don't mind if its used, presumably its only photons that have gone through it and not jizz :D
deev
Banger King

Post by Revol @ Mon Apr 23, 2018 11:21 pm

Good second hand shop or try talkphotography classifieds for private sellers. Used lenses are the way to go IMO.